Homeschooling

Homeschooling is something my husband and I have talked about on and off for a few years now. Sadly the public education system in our state is not what it used to be. It’s no longer about the kids but more about the dollar signs and the bottom line. And to me that’s just not good enough. I don’t want to send my children somewhere for 40 hours a week where they are going to be treated like a number or a test score rather then a person.

 

I hold the utmost respect for educators, they have a sometimes thank-less job. In which they are expected to work long hours for little pay. I know that it is not their choice to teach only for the test or lose track of the student in the back of the class. But I also know the reality that this is sadly what happens today.

After doing a good deal of research as well as looking into local homeschooling groups in our area my husband and I have decided to homeschool our son next year for Kindergarten. We are planning to use the Timberdoodle homeschool cirriculum and supplement with different trips, crafts and homeschool co-op activities in our area.

 

To be honest I have no idea how this is really going to go, I am hoping for the best outcome and keeping my fingers crossed. I plan to document this journey here and I hope any and all those interesting will follow along and take part in this adventure with us.

Leave a Reply

