Instant Pot

Last week my sweet hubby surprised me and got my an instant pot during Amazon Prime day! I have been eyeing one for a while now and the deal was so good he went for it. Needless to say I was shocked! 🙂

After searching on Pinterest I decided my first instant pot dish should be meatballs. A great family friendly meal but made easy for me. I started with my basic meatball recipe, which you can find at the bottom of this post.

After browning the meatballs in a pan, for around 3 minutes per side, I put them in the Instant Pot. Next I covered them with sauce, put the lid on (made sure the valve was set to seal) and set it for high pressure with a cook time of five minutes.

After building pressure, cooking for 5 minutes and naturally releasing pressure for 10 minutes I took off the lid. I was absolutely amazed! They were perfectly cooked through, moist and so flavorful. I will totally be making them again!

Basic Meatballs (Makes 30 large Meatballs)

  • 4lbs of ground beef/venison
  • 1lb mild breakfast or Italian sausage (no casing)
  • 2tsp each garlic powder, onion powder, oregano
  • 1/4 tsp crushed red pepper
  • 1/4 cup grated Parmesan Cheese
  • 1/2-3/4 cup bread crumbs
  • 3 eggs

Combine all ingredients in a bowl. After everthing is combined scoop into uniform size.

Over Preparation

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Place meatballs on a sheet tray and bake for 90 minutes. When meatballs have finished baking place in a simmering pot of sauce and heat on low until ready to serve.

Instant Pot Preparation

Brown in a non-stick skillet with oil, turning after 3 minutes. When both sides are brown place meatballs in IP. Cover with sauce and lock the lid on the IP. Make sure your valve is set to seal and turn machine on. Set to high pressure and cook time 5 minutes. At the end of the 5 minutes leave on Keep Warm for 10 minutes to let pressure naturally release.

Serve with pasta or on bread.

 

Enjoy!

Meatballs

 

You can find the Instant Pot I am using here.

Leave a Reply

